Friday, April 28, 2017

The Allowance Committee Report submitted today to the Finance Minister
The Committee on Allowances headed by Shri Ashok Lavasa, Finance Secretary and Secretary (Expenditure) submitted its Report to the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley yesterday; The Report will be now placed before the Empowered Committee of Secretaries (E-CoS) to firm-up the proposal for approval of the Cabinet.
The Committee on Allowances, constituted by the Ministry of Finance, Government of India to examine the 7th CPC recommendations on Allowances, submitted its Report to the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley yesterday. The Committee was headed by Shri Ashok Lavasa, Finance Secretary and Secretary (Expenditure),M/o Finance, Government of India and had Secretaries of Home Affairs, Defence, Health & Family Welfare, Personnel & Training, Post and Chairman, Railway Board as its Members and Joint Secretary (Implementation Cell) as its Member Secretary.
The Committee was set-up in pursuance of the Union Cabinet decision on 29.06.2016 when approving the 7th CPC recommendations on pay, pensions and related issues were approved. The decision to set-up the Committee was taken in view of significant changes recommended by the 7th CPC in the allowances structure and a large number of representations received in this regard from various Staff Associations as well as the apprehensions conveyed by various Ministries / Departments. The 7th CPC had recommended that of a total of 196 Allowances, 52 be abolished altogether and 36 be abolished as separate identities by subsuming them in another allowance.
The Committee took note of all the representations received from various stakeholders on the 7th CPC recommendations on Allowances. Representations and demands for modifications were received in respect of 79 allowances which have been examined in detail by the Committee. In doing so, the Committee interacted with all the members of the Standing Committee of National Council (Staff Side), Joint Consultative Machinery (JCM) as well the representatives of various Staff Associations of Railways, Postal employees, Doctors, Nurses, and Department of Atomic Energy. It also interacted with the representatives of the Defence Forces, DGs of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs) namely CRPF, CISF, BSF, ITBP, SSB, and Assam Rifles as also senior officers from IB and SPG to understand the viewpoint of their personnel.  As mentioned in the Report, the Committee held a total of 15 meetings and was assisted by a Group of Officers headed by Additional Secretary (D/o Expenditure) in examining the representations. 
Based on such extensive stakeholder consultations and detailed examination, the Committee has suggested certain modifications in the 7th CPC recommendations so as to address the concerns of the stakeholders in the context of the rationale behind the recommendations of the 7th CPC as well as other administrative exigencies. Modifications have been suggested in some allowances which are applicable universally to all employees as well as certain other allowances which apply to specific employee categories such as Railway men, Postal employees, Scientists, Defence Forces personnel, Doctors and Nurses etc.
The Report, now being examined in the Department of Expenditure, Ministry of Finance, will be placed before the Empowered Committee of Secretaries (E-CoS) set-up to screen the 7th CPC recommendations and to firm-up the proposal for approval of the Cabinet. It may be recalled that while recommendations of the 7th CPC on pay and pension were implemented with the approval of Cabinet, allowances continue to be paid at old rates. After consideration by the E-CoS, the proposal for implementation of 7th CPC recommendations on Allowances after incorporating the modifications suggested by the Committee on Allowances in its Report shall be placed before the Cabinet for approval.

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Dear Comrades,
The 4th All India Conference of AIPSBCOEA was held at Satya Priya Bhawan (ABTA Hall) Kolkata, West Bengal Circle from 8th April to 10th April 2017 in a very grand manner with participation of great NFPE leaders, Com. M. Krishnan, Com. R.N. Parashar, Com. Giri Raj Singh, Com. K.V. Sridharan, Com. S.B. Yadav, Com. U.S. Chakravarty and Dr. Asim Kumar Das Gupta Ex. Finance Minister, Govt. of West Bengal.  In this Conference, a large number of delegates and visitors (about 180) lodged their attendance from about all corners of country.
In support of genuine demands of SBCO employees a grand rally was organised from Yoga Yog Bhawan (CPMG Office, WB Circle) to Satya Priya Bhawan at Kolkata leaded by Com. R.N. Parashar, Com. Giri Raj Singh, Com. S.R. Roy, Com. S.S. Sathe, Com. S. Apan Raj and Com. Virendra Tewary.
This Conference was successfully arranged by the Comrades of West Bengal Circle under the leadership of Com. Tapan Das Gupta, Com. Janardan Majumdar, Com. Sanjib Barua and Com. Asit Das.
The important photographs of the Rally & Conference are produced below including new set of CHQ Office bearers elected unanimously in the 4th AIC held at Kolkata.